Vegan, gluten free BEST breakfast sausage EVER… seriously.

On Thanksgiving morning, I hosted a large, vegan, gluten-free breakfast. It was so fun to make everything. We had Strawberry, almond pancakes, pumpkin pancakes, vegan “sausage”, scrambled tofu, Maple Pecan granola, almond banana yogurt, and cinnamon raisin gluten-free bread. We lingered over breakfast and enjoyed each other and the food. 

But, I’d have to say, the vegan, gluten-free “sausage” may have been my favorite of the morning – simply because it is a recipe that anyone can eat – unless you are allergic to oats. Here it is – it doesn’t sounds like much, but try it. You’ll love it.

3 1/2 cups water

1/4 cup Bragg’s Liquid Aminos or low sodium soy sauce

1/4 c. nutritional yeast

2 tbsp. olive oil

1 tbsp maple syrup

1 tbsp. dried sage

1 tbsp. Italian seasoning

1 1/2 tsp. garlic powder

1 1/2 tbsp. onion powder

1/2 tsp. cayenne pepper (optional – I used 1/4 tsp)

3 1/2 cups quick-cooking oats (I just processed my old-fashioned oats in the food processor a bit and it worked great.

1/2 to 1 cup walnuts – processed in food processor until ground into little nuggets. You do not want powder, nor do you want to be able to identify them as walnuts anymore. Make sense?

1. Combine all ingredients, except oats, in a medium sauce pan; bring to a boil over high heat.

2. Remove from heat; add oats and stir well. Allow mixture to sit for 5-10 minutes.

3. Scoop mixture into 2 inch round balls; place on prepared baking sheet (pprepare with non-stick cooking spray) and flatten gently with hands. Bake 15 minutes; flip sausages and bake an additional 10 minutes.

 

ENJOY!!!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Vegan, gluten free BEST breakfast sausage EVER… seriously.

  1. Kim says:

    These sound great, what temp did you heat the oven to? I really want to try these babies!

    • vegan4lent says:

      Oops – 350… but you can go as high as 400 and do 10 min. on each side. I just made them 2 nights ago (breakfast for dinner) with scrambled tofu. They are just SO good! :) Enjoy!

  2. calseduc says:

    Unbelievably meaty flavor and texture. Just the right chew. These are so much better than any of the other vegan burger/sausage recipes I’ve eaten. I’m planning variations with fennel or anise and a bit more cayenne, but it’ll be a while as this makes a big batch. I’m also wondering about adding chopped raisins as in oatmeal cookies. I put most of the batch in the freezer yesterday. Zapped two for a minute in the microwave for breakfast and they were great. Wow! Thanks a bunch for this recipe.

    • vegan4lent says:

      So glad you like it! I’d love to hear how your herb experiments go… The fennel sees would be fantastic!

      • calseduc says:

        The second batch included fennel seeds lightly crushed with mortar and pistil and ground fennel. Tastes great! I make ‘em big and they work nicely in burger buns stacked with onion slices, tomato slices, lettuce, and pickles and a touch of mustard. This recipe is a real winner. Bigger, thinner, and crisper would probably be a good sub. for a tenderloin sandwich. Why wait for lent!

  3. Pingback: Spaghetti and Meatballs | My Spoon Is Not Big Enough

  4. anthrogeek10 says:

    FANTASTIC!!! My meat eating friends LOVED these!! Bravo!

  5. sherry says:

    Can these be crumbled up and fried to make say, taco “meat”?
    Thanks!

  6. Kimberly says:

    Have you tried this with nuts other than walnuts? I don’t care for walnuts!

  7. Pingback: Clown Eats Well » Breakfast sausage and savory oatmeal, in one.

  8. Julie says:

    These are indeed fantastic although I made some minor modifications. I wasn’t sure if you meant ground sage though and if so, that’s a lot of sage for us so I dialed it way down as we don’t like sage THAT much. The walnuts are a great idea too. I use walnuts in some dinner-type patties I make and they really add a great meaty texture. Oh, I snuck in about 1/16th of a tsp of liquid smoke. I can imagine that if I’d followed your recipe exactly, they still would have been great, I just wanted to add some of the flavors we really like in our breakfast sausage. This recipe is going to save me an absolute fortune as my kids love a morning sausage and I was buying the stuff that’s $4.99 for about 10 (eek, awful!).

Leave a Reply

