2 Soups combined

Tonight, I couldn’t decide between 2 recipes I wanted to try. There were things I liked about both recipes… but I also thought each was missing a little something. So, I combined them and added a bit of my own stuff and here’s the result. I brought it to my church’s “love feast” – which is the evening meal we share every Sunday evening after worship. I returned home with a big, empty pot, so I think it was well received.  Give it a try… it’s a very comforting, warm, cozy stew.

African Chickpea and spinach soup combined with Spicy Peanut stew – 2 recipes combined with a few additions:

1.tbsp. olive oil

1 med. Onion, chopped

2 lg. cloves garlic

1 tbsp. fresh grated ginger

1 small sweet potato, peeled and cut into cubes

1 x 14.5 oz can diced tomatoes with chiles

1 lb butternut squash, cubed (about 3 cups)

½ lb or about 4 cups cauliflower florets

¼ c. natural (I prefer organic) Sunbutter or peanut butter

2 cups better than bouillon vegetable broth

1 tsp. paprika

1 tsp. ground coriander

½  tsp. ground fenugreek seeds (I use a coffee grinder)

¼ tsp. ground mustard seed

1 ½ cups cooked chickpeas (or one can if you don’t have time to cook them ahead of time)

3-5 oz fresh spinach, chopped (depending on how much spinach you like)

Fresh or dried cilantro – to taste (I used about 1 tbsp. dried)

Heat oil in a large pot over medium heat. Saute onion for about 5 minutes. Add the garlic and ginger and sauté another 3 minutes.

Blend the Sunbutter (or peanut butter) with the broth.

Add the squash and sweet potato to the pot along with all the lovely spices and herbs. Saute for about 5 minutes. Then add the broth/Sunbutter mixture, tomatoes. Bring to a boil and then reduce heat to a simmer for about 10 minutes. Add the cauliflower and simmer another 15 minutes. When all the veggies are softened, add the spinach and stir in to wilt. If you like you soup a little brothier, feel free to make more of the broth/sunbutter mixture to add to the soup. I like it thick like a stew.

ENJOY!

 

This entry was posted in Soup - warm from the inside out. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to 2 Soups combined

  1. lweise says:

    my new favorite word…

    fenugreek

  2. Lucinda says:

    I think I’m going to this sometime this week . . . how essential is the fenugreek? Does it just “make” the recipe? Assuming it’s not something I can find in the Meijer spice aisle:)

  3. vegan4lent says:

    It’s worth the trip to purchase it (or stop by and borrow it from me). The spice market in Gaslight Village has it and it’s great. I sometimes just open the spice and smell it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

