Vegan Louisiana Greens and “Sausage” – made gluten and soy free

One of my last posts included my absolute favorite sausage recipe. They are easy, quick, and really yummy. When I make them, I often make a double batch (though the recipe makes plenty already) and freeze what isn’t eaten.

I then found this great recipe at http://www.vegetariantimes.com and used these sausage instead of commercially made soy sausage. It turned out SO great. The recipe takes no time at all if you have the sausage already made.

The recipe says it serves 6, but I doubled it and had just enough leftover for lunch the next day. So, I suggest doubling it.

2 tsp. olive oil

1/4 tsp. crushed pepper

4 cloves minced garlic

1 med-sized sweet onion, halved and then thinly sliced – or diced – or chopped

10-12 homemade sausage (see sausage recipe on this site), crumbled

16 oz. of your favorite greens – I’ve used swiss chard, spinach, and kale (and combined) and it all was fantastic.

2 1/2 tbsp. red wine vinegar

2 cups vegetable broth – I like “no-chicken” chicken broth

1/3 cup white wine or more vegetable broth (this is not necessary – I made it without)

3/4 cups tomato sauce

1/2 tbsp. dried thyme

1. Heat oil and crushed pepper (optional, depending on how much pepper you like) over med-high heat in a very large stock pan (I use a wok) or stockpot for 1 minute. Add garlic and onions and cook for 2 minutes. Add crumbled, homemade “sausage”, stirring frequently as you cook it for about 7 minutes or until browned. Add greens, reduce heat to medium-low and cook mixture, covered, stirring occasionally, for 5 minutes or until greens have cooked down. Add vinegar, wine, broth, and tomato sauce. Reduce heat to low.

2. Cover and cook for 15 minutes. Add the thyme and cook 5 minutes longer, or until greens are tender, stirring ocassionally.

You can eat this as is or serve it over brown rice or quinoa or noodles… your choice. I love it just as it is. My hubby would say serve over brown rice. My kids… noodles all the way (gluten-free, of course). For added protein, you could serve it over Explore Asia’s Black Bean Spaghetti which has around 20 grams of protein per serving!

This entry was posted in The Main Dish, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

